Calligraphy & Paintings Collection

Calligraphy & Paintings

This collection showcases selected works of Calligraphy and Paintings Section from the Chinese University of Hong Kong Library publication, namely, “From the treasure house: Jewels from the Library of the Chinese University of Hong Kong”. The authors are notable figures in China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan from the late Qing dynasty to modern times, including late Qing epigraphy connoisseur Fu Xi; Qing scholar Zhu Ciqi and his student Jian Chaoliang; Kuomintang official Da Jitao; scholars and writers Zhang Shizhao, Ma Kiam and his brothers, Shen Yinmo, Zhou Zuoren, Chen Yinke, Zhou Zuoren, Wu Mi, Mao Dun, Zhu Guangqian, Zheng Zhenduo, Yu Pingbo, Qian Zhongshu, and local educators and scholars such as Lu Xiangfu, Li King-hong, So Man-jock and Jao Tsung-I; Guangdong and Hong Kong artists and literati Ye Gongchuo, Li Fengting, Zhang Daqian, Deng Fen, Luo Shuzhong, Feng Kanghou, Chen Jinghong and Zhang Renshi; the modern Chinese artist known for depicting folk life, Huang Zhou; Taiwan poets Li You and Wu Wangu; and, the Nobel Prize in Literature laureate Gao Xingjian. Calligraphy and paintings in this collection are all remarkable items collected by the Library over the years which show high artistic value and, at the same time, stand witness to the social interaction among members of the literary circles. The following is some features of the collection.

Jian Chaoling (1851-1933) was a student of Zhu Ciqi (1807–1881) who was widely acclaimed as Master Jiujiang. Jian was well-versed in the classics and poetry, and was known as Master Jian’an after his studio in Jian’an, Shunde, in Guangdong province. Jian’s Poem in Semi-cursive Script in this collection was composed on his travel to Humen Fort. The calligraphy was purchased at the cost of a few hundred catties of grain by the Yang family during the war. It was later passed down to Yang’s son Shunwen, a student of one of Jian’s students, who invited Jian’s disciples in Hong Kong and Yang’s fellow members of the famous Shuoguo Poetry Society to enrich the scroll with their poems in 1950. Yang Shunwen also added his colophon and postscripts to the scroll.

This collection also features letters and poems in calligraphy from the five brothers of the Ma family, the “Five Mas”. One of them is written by the master of Chinese classics Ma Heng (1881–1955), the fourth among the brothers and was the Director of the National Palace Museum, to his younger brother, Ma Kiam (1882–1959), who migrated to Hong Kong in the 1930s and taught in the Department of Chinese at the University of Hong Kong. Another one was Ma Kiam’s azalea poems presented to Li King-hong (1890–1960).

Li King-hong was one of the first three graduates of the Faculty of Arts at the University of Hong Kong in 1916. Li dedicated himself to Chinese language education in Hong Kong, becoming the first Chinese Education Inspector and later the founding headmaster of the Government Vernacular Middle School in 1926. An accomplished poet, calligrapher and painter, Li painted Ink Butterfly in 1930; after the war he invited fellow members of the Shouguo Poetry Society to inscribe poems on it. With Li’s active involvement in the education, literary and art circles in Hong Kong and Guangdong for forty years, he enjoyed friendship with many contemporaries and often received paintings and calligraphy from his peers, such as those from the Chinese Painting Society. The paintings by the artists Li Fengting (1884–1967) and Deng Fen (1894–1964) included in this collection were previously in Li King-hong’s collection.

Zhang Daqian (1899–1983) was a celebrated painter who enjoyed worldwide acclaim. Dai Jitao (1890–1949), who joined Sun Yat-sen in the Tongmenghui, was a high-ranking official during the Republican era. Zhang’s painting Bamboo and Plum Blossom and Dai’s calligraphy Poem by Bai Juyi in Running Script are included in this collection.

Finally, the calligraphy and paintings from Hong Kong artists and literati such as Feng Kanghou (1901-1983), Luo Shuzhong (1898–1969), Chen Jinghong (1903–1993) and Zhang Renshi (1912–1972) that were migrated from Guangdong during political upheavals in China in the 1950s are featured in this collection. Feng, renowned for his calligraphy and seal carving, had presented a Seven-character Couplet in Seal Script to Pun Sun-on. Luo, well known for his inebriation and boisterous character, was an accomplished poet, painter and seal-engraver. His hanging scroll of Tao Yuanming’s prose poem in regular script, written in his studio in Tai Po, is one of his masterpieces. Chen was born into a respected Lingnan scholar family with such forefathers as Chen Gongyin (1631–1700) who was numbered among the “Three Masters of Lingnan”. This collection showcases Chen’s four scrolls of calligraphy in seal, clerical, regular and cursive scripts. Zhang Renshi, an outstanding female calligrapher, poet and painter, was a member of several literary societies in Guangzhou and Hong Kong. She is especially known for her peonies paintings and sharp wit in her writings. Among the almost eight hundred inscribed poems she published, more than a hundred are seven-character quatrains on peonies. Her Fifty Poems on Peony in Running Script, featured in this commemorative volume, is a rare and superb contribution to this genre of writings.

書畫館藏

Calligraphy & Paintings

本藏品收錄自香港中文大學圖書館編撰的《書海驪珠: 香港中文大學圖書館珍藏專輯》中書畫部分。作者有晚清書畫金石學家符翕;廣東大儒朱九江先生及弟子簡朝亮;民初政要戴季陶;及章士釗、馬鑑昆仲、沈尹默、周作人、陳寅恪、趙元任、吳宓、茅盾、朱光潛、鄭振鐸、俞平伯、錢鍾書等學人、作家;還有香港教育家、學人盧湘父、李景康、蘇文擢、饒宗頤;活躍粵港書畫文壇葉恭綽、李鳳廷、張大千、鄧芬、羅叔重、馮康侯、陳荊鴻、張紉詩;具民族色彩國畫家黃冑;曾經寓港、後遷居臺灣之詩人李猷、吳萬谷;諾貝爾文學獎得主高行健。書畫藏品均是中大圖書館所藏極具藝術鑑賞價值的作品,亦為作者與其他文士之交遊紀錄,如下述書畫家作品,即可考見上世紀數段藝林情誼。

簡朝亮(1851–1933)為人稱九江先生的朱次琦(1807–1881)的弟子,精研經史、詞章之學,因曾在順德簡岸「讀書草堂」講學,人稱簡岸先生。《簡岸先生登覽防詩卷》為簡氏再傳弟子楊舜文先生家傳秘珍,有簡氏詩《登覽臺防寄焯猷》,寫簡氏登覽廣東虎門礮臺。此詩乃戰時楊父以數百斤穀自鄉鄰購得,戰後1950 年,楊舜文先生邀簡朝亮居港弟子及香港重要詩社碩果社社盟,為簡氏詩題引首及賦詩十六首,誠為難得手卷。

本藏品亦收錄了「五馬」昆仲的作品,包括馬衡寫贈馬鑑《淦莊八景詩》一幅及馬鑑贈李景康 (1890–1960) 行書《杜鵑七絕》二首。馬衡(1881–1955),排行第四,為一代國學大師,曾任故宮博物院院長。 馬鑑 (1882–1959)為馬衡幼弟,三十年代來港,任教香港大學中文系。

李景康(1890–1960)為1916 年三名香港大學首屆文科畢業生之一,亦為首位香港華人視學官及官立漢文中學(金文泰中學前身)創校校長,畢生致力中文教育。李氏諳詩書繪事,戰後重檢1930 年舊作《墨蝶圖》,再題詩以記,並邀碩果社社盟題詩二十四首,得《墨蝶圖卷》。李氏縱橫粵港教育界、書畫文壇四十年,屢得國畫研究會友人及其他詩書畫盟貽贈書畫,葉恭綽為題「興往情來」 ,以記各人情誼,本藏品所載李鳳廷、鄧芬書畫即錄自李氏舊藏。

張大千(1899–1983)乃著名畫家,名揚海內外;戴季陶(1890–1949)是政治家,追隨孫中山,早年加入同會,任國民黨要職。二人作品 - 張大千《梅竹圖》及戴季陶行書白居易樂府《法曲》也載於本藏品。

最後,本藏品收錄了馮康侯(1901–1983)、羅叔重(1898–1969)、陳荊鴻 (1903–1993)及張紉詩(1912–1972)等香港書畫名家的作品,他們均於50年代中國政治動盪期間自粵遷港,活躍香港書畫文壇。馮康侯以書畫篆刻鳴世,本書錄康氏寫與詩盟潘新安篆書七字聯一幅;羅叔重 工詩及書畫、篆刻,一生以嗜酒、疏狂名著文壇,其楷書《閑情賦》書於新界大埔書齋「烟滸」,屬其佳作;陳荊鴻 為嶺南三家陳恭尹 (1631–1700) 族人,工詩詞書法,本書錄其篆隸真草四體四屏;女詩書畫名家張紉詩文思敏捷,為粵港藝文組織緜社、越社、碩果社、堅社及圓社成員。張氏善寫牡丹,輒自題畫作。張氏曾刊其題畫詩近八百首,包括牡丹七言絕句逾百首,本藏品錄其中行書牡丹詩五十首,為罕見題畫詩鉅製。