FAQs

Electronic Theses & Dissertations Collection

1.    Who holds ownership of the copyright to a CUHK thesis or dissertation?

Before September 2008, CUHK retained the copyright of all theses and dissertations of its postgraduate students. Any person(s) intending to use part or the whole of any thesis or dissertation submitted before September 2008 in a publication has to seek permission from the Dean of the Graduate School. 

Since September 2008, the authors of theses or dissertations hold the copyright.  However, to provide wider accessibility of theses or dissertations for scholastic and academic purposes, all postgraduate students have to agree to grant CUHK a worldwide irrevocable, non-exclusive right to digitize and make their work available for scholastic and academic purposes provided that proper acknowledgment of authorship is given. 

2.    How do I request permission to publish all or part of my thesis or dissertation?

If your thesis or dissertation was submitted before September 2008, you should write to the Dean of the Graduate School to obtain permission to publish all or part of your thesis or dissertation in a publication.  

If your thesis or dissertation was submitted after September 2008, you hold the copyright of your work and you are free to publish your work.

3.    What is third party copyright material?

Third party copyright material is material in any format to which another person or entity holds the copyright. Examples include publications such as books or journal articles, questionnaires, computer software, images, graphics, photographs, maps, sound recordings, films, music or artistic works.  It does not matter whether the item comes from a print or digital source.  

4.    What should I do with third-party copyright material?

If you wish to include any third-party copyright material in your thesis or dissertation that does not fall under the ‘fair dealing’ exemption in the Copyright Ordinance, you need to seek copyright permission from the copyright holder and include a statement at the appropriate part in the thesis or dissertation such as “Permission to reproduce this ... has been granted by..." 

If permission is not granted, you may consider removing the third-party copyright material from your thesis or dissertation and replacing it with a statement such as "this image has been removed by the author for copyright reasons". A bibliographic reference may be placed here to refer readers to the original source.  

Students are encouraged to seek permission to use copyrighted material in their theses and dissertations at the time of conducting research and writing the thesis.  It is also a good academic practice to seek permission for use of third party copyright materials in anticipation of future publication of theses or dissertations.

If any thesis or dissertation is reported to have any unauthorized third-party copyright material, we will apply the take down policy.

5.    Under what circumstances am I exempted to seek copyright permission of third-party copyright material?

The Copyright Ordinance of Hong Kong protects the expression of ideas in an original work created by its author including copyright works made available on the Internet.  But certain acts under the Ordinance are permissible and do not constitute an infringement of copyrights.  For instance, the Ordinance allows fair dealing in any type of copyright work for the purpose of research or private study. 'Fair dealing' can include copying or any other of the restricted acts in copyright (e.g. performance, recording, adapting).  To decide whether an act is 'fair dealing' the law requires you to consider: 

a)    the purpose and nature of the dealing, including whether the dealing is for a non-profit-making purpose and whether the dealing is of a commercial nature; 
b)    the nature of the work; 
c)    the amount and substantiality of the portion dealt with in relation to the work as a whole; and 
d)    the effect of the dealing on the potential market for or value of the work.

For details, please refer to the following documents:
•    Copyright Ordinance: Fair dealing for purposes of giving or receiving instruction
•    Copyright in Education in Hong Kong; and
•    Hong Kong's Amended Copyright Law: a Guide for Teachers and Students

With regard to the above, a student copying a “reasonable amount” of any third-party copyright material and incorporating it in his or her dissertation for education purposes with proper acknowledgement of the source of the work would be considered “fair”. Therefore, if only a small portion from other works is used for supporting your argument, or if the material is available in the public domain, and as long as there is proper referencing, there is no copyright infringement both for the purpose of examination and for subsequent publication of the thesis or dissertation in print or online  

If a substantial part of a work is used, it is still allowable in a print thesis for the purpose of examination.  However, it would NOT be considered "fair use" if the work is published in print such as in a journal or book or online like in the ETD collection.  In this case, it is the responsibility of the author of the thesis or dissertation to seek permission from the copyright holders.  

6.    How can I enhance my understanding of Hong Kong’s Intellectual Property and Copyright Law?

The Graduate School organizes the Improving Postgraduate Learning (IPL) programme to help postgraduate students to do research.  One of the online modules is titled “Observing Intellectual Property and Copyright Law during Research “ and compulsory for all research students.

Please also refer to copyright information relating to education compiled by the Intellectual Property Department of Hong Kong. 

7.    Can I restrict access to my thesis or dissertation?

A one-year “restricted access” is granted automatically to the final version of all theses and dissertations submitted by postgraduate students. Access to the abstract, table of contents and full text of the theses and dissertations will be blocked during this one-year period.  After this one-year period, theses and dissertations will be open for public access unless approval from the Graduate Council Executive Committee is granted for keeping a thesis or dissertation confidential.

常見問題

香港中文大學博碩士論文庫

1.    誰擁有香港中文大學博碩士論文的版權?

香港中文大學擁有二零零八年九月以前所有研究生博碩士論文的版權。任何人士如想在出版物內使用部份或全部在二零零八年九月前提交的博碩士論文,須要尋求研究院院長的許可。

自二零零八年九月開始,博碩士論文的作者擁有其論文的版權。為使博碩士論文因學術目的而提供更廣泛的存取,所有研究生須要同意授予香港中文大學一個世界性不可撤銷、非獨家的權利,可以為學術目的而數碼化及提供他們的作品,前提是要有適當的認可給予作者。

2.    我如何取得出版全部或部份自己的博碩士論文的許可?

如果你的博碩士論文是在二零零八年九月前提交,你應寫信給研究院院長要求許可在出版物內出版全部或部份自己的博碩士論文。

如果你的博碩士論文是在二零零八年九月後提交,你擁有自己作品的版權,你可以自由出版你的作品。

3.    什麼是第三者版權資料?

第三者版權資料是指任何人士或個體對不論何種類形資料所持有的版權,例子包括如書籍和期刊文章的出版物、問卷、電腦軟件、圖像、圖表、照片、地圖、聲音紀錄、影片、音樂或藝術作品。不論該項資料的來源是紙本或數碼。

4.    我該如何處理第三者版權資料?

如果你想在博碩士論文內包括不屬《版權條例》「公平處理」豁免的任何第三者版權資料,你須要尋求版權持有人的版權許可,並在博碩士論文適當的地方加上如「獲得XXX授權複製此XXX」的陳述。

如果你未能獲得授權,你可以考慮將第三者版權資料從你的博碩士論文中移除而代之以如「本圖像因版權原因被作者移除」的陳述。資料出處亦可放於此以便讀者找到原來資料。

我們鼓勵學生在進行研究及撰寫論文時就尋求授權在他們的博碩士論文內使用版權資料。如預期將來出版博碩士論文,尋求授權使用第三者版權資料亦是一個良好的學術實踐。

如任何博碩士論文被指含有任何未授權的第三者版權資料,我們將採取移除政策

5.    在何種情況下我可以獲得豁免尋求第三者版權資料的版權許可?

香港版權條例保護作者在其原創作品的創作意念表達,包括在互聯網上提供的版權作品。但該條例容許若干行為而不構成侵犯版權,例如,條例容許以研究或私人研習為目的而作的任何種類版權作品的公平處理。「公平處理」可以包括複製或任何其他版權所限制的作為﹝例如表演、紀錄、改編﹞。決定一個行為是否「公平處理」法例要求你考慮:

a)    該項處理的目的及性質,包括該項處理是否為非牟利的目的而作出以及是否屬商業性質;
b)    該作品的性質;
c)    就該作品的整項而言,被處理的部分所佔的數量及實質分量;及
d)    該項處理對該作品的潛在市場或價值的影響。

詳情請參考下列文件:
•    《版權條例》:為教學或接受教學的目的而作的公平處理
•    教學與版權;及
•    修訂後的香港版權法:教師與學生指南

根據上述條例,一位學生複製「合理數量」的任何第三者版權資料,並因教育目的將之包括在他/她的論文內而又提供適當的作品來源確認,將會被視為「公平」。所以,如果只有其他作品的一小部份用作支持你的論點,或如果那些資料可以在公共領域找到,只要有洽當的出處參考,則以考試或其後以印刷或線上出版博碩士論文為目的而作的,將不會是侵犯版權。

如果一部作品的實質部分被使用,仍會因為考試目的而被容許用在紙本論文上。但是,如果該作品以印刷形式如期刊或書籍或線上如論文庫出版,將不會被視為「公平使用」。在這情況下,這是博碩士論文作者的責任去尋求版權持有人的許可。

6.    如何能提高我對香港知識產權及版權法的瞭解?

研究院舉辦 Improving Postgraduate Learning (IPL) programme以幫助研究生進行研究,其中一項線上模組 “Observing Intellectual Property and Copyright Law during Research”是所有研究生都必須參加的。

請亦參考由香港知識產權署編製與教育有關的版權資訊

7.    我能否限制對我的博碩士論文的存取?

一年的「限制存取」已自動給予所有研究生提交的最後版本的博碩士論文,在這一年內將不容許存取這些博碩士論文的摘要、目錄及全文。一年期後博碩士論文將會公開存取,除非得到研究院院務會執行委員會批准將博碩士論文作「機密」保存。