The Cultural Revolution in Images: Caricature-Posters from Guangzhou 1966-1977

The Cultural Revolution in Images -- Caricature-Posters from Guangzhou 1966-1977

The collection “The Cultural Revolution in Images: Caricature-Posters from Guangzhou 1966-1977” showcases the two hundred and sixteen original posters from the Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Library. The posters are divided into two groups: Red Guards’ posters dated between 1966-1967; and images produced against the Gang of Four dated between 1976-1977. The aim of this digital collection is to make these valuable visual sources available to the academic community, and to allow scholars to employ them for research and teaching.

The CUHK Library acquired this collection with the help of collector and book dealer Mr. Wong Chi Ching 黃志清 (66聯合中文). During the Cultural Revolution, Mr. Wong gathered Chinese books and magazines, which were later acquired by prestigious universities in Hong Kong and around the world. CUHK Library initially purchased one hundred fifty-eight posters from Mr. Wong between 2006 and 2008; Mr Wong then kindly donated another fifty-eight scrolls to the Library in 2015. It is thanks to Mr. Wong’s foresight and generosity that scholars and students can now freely access Cultural Revolution posters at CUHK.

Most of the pieces showcased in this collection are satirical caricatures against party leaders drawn in Guangzhou during the Cultural Revolution. It is quite challenging to classify these images, as generally there are two words used to describe them: “cartoons” (漫畫, manhua) or “propaganda posters” (宣傳畫, xuanchuan hua ). On the one hand, the term manhua , commonly translated as “cartoon” in English, appropriately describes the satirical content of these pieces. On the other hand, the term xuanchuan hua , or “propaganda poster”, correctly underlines the propagandistic function and the public nature of these images. Eventually, the name “caricature posters” (諷刺宣傳畫, fengci xuanchuanhua) has been chosen to label the pieces of this collection as it comprises both the content and the function of these items.

The satirical content of these pieces sets them apart from the most well-known propaganda posters. Caricatures of party leaders were popular during the Cultural Revolution: for instance, Red Guard Weng Rulan’s 翁如蘭 (1944-) “Crowd of Clowns” (群醜圖, chunchoutu) – a plate featuring the caricature of thirty-nine purged public figures – is now considered one of the most iconic art works of this historical period. However, despite of the popularity of Weng’s work, most of the posters of the Cultural Revolution favour portrays of glorious Red Guards over the cartoonish effigies of fallen leaders. Because of their focus on caricatures, the posters of the CUHK Library stand apart from the most known images of the Cultural Revolution, and make them unique visual material for scholars and students.

This digital collection is organized into two sections: the first entitled “Caricature Posters of the Cultural Revolution in Guangzhou” showcases posters dated between 1966 and 1967; the second section entitled “The End of the Gang of Four” presents posters dated between 1976 and 1977. The posters are then divided according to their content, mostly the identity of the politician they targeted. All the available information about each image (author and date of production) are provided, together with a translation of texts and slogans contained in the posters.

This collection is curated by Dr. Laura Pozzi (laurapozzi@cuhk.edu.hk; laura.pozzi@eui.eu) in collaboration with CUHK Library's Research Support and Digital Initiatives team. Special thanks to Dr. Lingjie Ji for cooperating in the translation process.

漫画中的文化大革命:广州的讽刺宣传画 1966-1977

漫画中的文化大革命:广州的讽刺宣传画 1966-1977

“漫画中的文化大革命:广州的讽刺宣传画 1966-1977”收录香港中文大学图书馆收藏的216幅宣传画原件。这批宣传画分为两组:其一是落款日期为 1966至1967年由红卫兵创作的宣传画,其二是落款日期为 1976至1977年以反对“四人帮”为主题的宣传画。本数码馆藏将这批珍贵的图像资料开放,供学术同仁使用,以助学者研究及教学之便。

香港中文大学图书馆购入此批藏品,要感谢收藏家及书商黄志清先生(66联合中文)的鼎力相助。黄志清先生在文化大革命期间搜集了大量中文书刊,其后售予香港及全球各大著名高校。2006至2008年期间,中大图书馆由黄志清先生处购得158件宣传画, 另外58件由黄志清先生于2015年捐赠中大。感谢黄志清先生的慷慨之举,使研究者及学生可于香港中文大学全面接触这些文化大革命宣传画。

本藏品基本都是针对中国共产党领导人的讽刺漫画,创作于文化大革命期间的广州。鉴别这批藏品的类型并非易事,通常可称之为“漫画”(cartoons)或“宣传画”(propaganda posters)。一方面,“漫画”(通常英译为cartoon)一词传达了作品的讽刺性内容;另一方面,“宣传画”则准确强调了画作的宣传功能和公开性。为了同时表明作品的内容和功能,我们最终将这批藏品定名为“讽刺宣传画”。

与更广为人知的宣传画相比,这批藏品的独特性在于其讽刺内容。以党内领导人为题的漫画在文革期间相当流行,红卫兵翁如兰(1944-)创作的《群丑图》集合了39位被打倒的公众人物的漫画肖像,被视为文革期间最标志性的艺术作品之一。虽然翁如兰的作品广为流传,文革期间的宣传画大多仍以描绘红卫兵的光辉形象为主,而非倒台领导人的漫画形象。中大图书馆所藏宣传画以讽刺漫画为主,有别于其他文革宣传画,对于研究者及学生来说,都是独特的图像资料。

本数码馆藏由两部分组成:“文革期间的广州讽刺宣传画”收录了1966至1967年的宣传画;第二部分“粉碎四人帮”则收录1967至1977年的作品。这批宣传画主要依照内容分类,尤其是作品中政治人物的身份。每件作品均附上包括作者及创作年代在内的现有资料,同时提供宣传画中所使用中文文本及口号的英译版本。

本次展览由Laura Pozzi博士 (laurapozzi@cuhk.edu.hk; laura.pozzi@eui.eu)与大学图书馆研究支援及数码创新团队合作策划,特别感谢季凌婕博士在翻译方面的协作。